Homemade pasta


It all started on March 3, 2001. Larry and I became husband and wife. I was only 21 years old. I wasn’t much of a cook back then. However, in the last 11 years cooking has grown to be one of my most favorite things to do! This year for our anniversary Larry gave me the pasta maker attachment for my KitchenAid stand mixer. I was so excited! Something totally new to make and try out. However, I was also pretty intimidated by the whole thought of making pasta from scratch. Now that I have the attachment, I knew there was no turning back. I had to do it and do it well. Today was the day. I decided to start with macaroni noodles. My kids love macaroni and cheese whether it is from a blue box, a yellow box, or made with my own cheese sauce. So I figured I couldn’t go wrong with starting there.

The first lesson I learned about making pasta was you measure flour a bit differently. You sift it into the measuring cup to get the perfect amount. I usually measure then sift, not the other way around. So this was a new thing for me. You spoon the flour into your sifter and sift right into the measuring cup. This makes quite a mess. I used a bendable cutting board under the measuring cup to help cut down on the mess and to be able to still use the flour that didn’t fall into the measuring cup. You level off the extra flour and then add to your mixing bowl the amount your recipe calls for. My recipe today called for 3 1/2 cups of flour.

This is after adding salt and eggs into the mixer too. The dough hook was working it over!

You can see it is starting to form into more of a ball here. After about 2 minutes of mixing with the dough hook it was just about perfect. We removed it from the mixing bowl and kneaded it by hand for a few minutes. Then formed the dough into walnut sized balls and started making pasta. This was when it got really fun.

Look how cute the little noodles are! I know I am a total nerd but I was literally so stinking excited over these!

We used a plate for the pasta to land onto after it was cut using the attached wire pasta cutter. This was where we learned our next lesson of making pasta from scratch.

The pasta turned out wonderfully. However, do not leave your homemade pasta in a pile like this until you are ready to cook it. It was only about 20 minutes or so before we cooked our pasta, but the pasta started to stick together. Plus the pasta that was on the bottom started to get a bit smushed from the weight of the pasta on top. Next time we will make sure to put the pasta in a single layer to prevent that from happening again.

We then made a homemade cheese sauce and baked up some of the most amazing macaroni and cheese we have ever tasted! I can’t wait to try another type of pasta next time. This pasta maker has 6 different pasta making plates. I think I will try a long pasta for some Bolognese sauce next! Yum!

3 Comments

  1. dreamingupme said,

    March 12, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I had a nice time watching it happen. The noodles were made in less than 10 minutes. I was extremely surprised.

    • March 12, 2012 at 1:47 am

      I was too! 🙂

      • dreamingupme said,

        March 12, 2012 at 9:35 pm

        I could tell, you were so giddy with excitement, you could have morphed into a unicorn right that second! LOL 🙂


Leave a Reply

Life Plan

Make Some History

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Sincerely, James

The Life of a Teenage-Traveler

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake!

Handling life one sweet treat at a time.

WTWO Alerts

Posting Weather Alerts for West TN

