Working out, making progress, earning my body!

On the advice of a friend, I took my measurements a few weeks ago. Initially, I was really mad at myself after taking the measurements. How could I have let myself go this far off course and get to this point? However, after the anger wore off a fire lite up inside of me. Since that day I have wanted to make the changes in my lifestyle. I want to be healthier and more active. That will make me a better wife and a better parent.

I have been walking and working out several times a week. I choose to either walk, jog, do yard work, or workout on one of my workout games on my Nintendo Wii. Tonight, I went for a walk/jog. Last week when I went for my first walk/jog I was barely able to jog for any distance at all. I went further than I expected, but still not very far before I was out of breath and feeling like I needed to stop. When I go for my walk/jog I go to a park near my house. There is a track around a pond. 1 mile is a little less than 3 times around the track. Last week I walked/jogged a total of 3 miles. I wasn’t really tired or out of breath at the end of the 3 miles though. It took me an hour to walk/jog my 3 miles.

Tonight, I had several errands to take care of, so I didn’t have as much time to be able to work out. For half a second I thought about skipping my workout. Thanks to my new-found motivation I quickly pushed those thoughts out of my mind and off to the park I went. Being short on time, I was only able to get in 1.5 miles. However, I did that in only 20 minutes!!!! I did one mile in under 15 minutes! Last week I was only able to jog for 1/4 or 1/3 of a lap before i had to stop. This week I was jogging half a lap before I stopped to walk. I didn’t jog on every lap that I took. Next time I hope to jog on every lap that I take for half of the lap.

Oh, and when I rechecked my measurements last I was down by an entire inch on every single one of my measurements. I will recheck my measurements in the morning tomorrow. I have not lost much weight yet since starting my new workout schedule, but I know that will come if I just keep working at it. My goal weight is only 25-30 pounds away. It would make me ecstatic to reach or at least be close to that weight before the end of 2012.

4 Comments

  1. lisahodson12 said,

    March 21, 2012 at 2:32 am

    Awesome! Congrats on your progress.

  2. SpeakLean said,

    March 21, 2012 at 3:32 am

    I commend you with your dedication! Jogging even 1 mile is tuff and I think it is great that you are fitting exercise in whenever you can! 1.5 miles in under 20 min WOW!! Keep up the great work. I would love to follow your blog and see your progress. You have a very healthy approach to your health goals and that is what makes everlasting changes.


Leave a Reply

Life Plan

Make Some History

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Sincerely, James

The Life of a Teenage-Traveler

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake!

Handling life one sweet treat at a time.

WTWO Alerts

Posting Weather Alerts for West TN

