Easy Homemade Lemon Curd

I am in the process of figuring out the perfect cupcake recipes for my daughter’s upcoming birthday. She decided on mint chocolate and lemon blueberry for her cupcake flavors this year. Then it’s up to me to figure out how to make those flavors into the perfect cupcakes for her big day.

Today I tried something new out. I made lemon curd. I figured a lemon curd would be a great filling for a cupcake. However, I had never made a lemon curd before, or any other curd for that matter! Ha! I was a bit nervous because it was something new and I didn’t want to mess it up.

Here are the ingredients that you will need to make this lemon curd.

3 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp. lemon zest
1/4 cup butter

Now, how to put it all together.

Many of the lemon curd recipes I found called for a double boiler. I don’t have one so I took a small pot and a stainless steel mixing bowl and made a makeshift double boiler. I put some water into the pot and put it on medium heat, then put the stainless steel bowl on top of the pot or water. Voila! A double boiler!

Add the eggs and sugar to the bowl. Whisk them together. Then add the juice, zest, and butter to the bowl. Stir the ingredients continuously for 15 minutes. I stood there stirring and stirring and stirring for what felt like an eternity. My arm felt like it was going to fall off, but I just kept plugging along. Then all of a sudden, close to the 15 minute mark, it was no longer liquidy. It started to thicken up and coat the spoon. I continued stirring til the 15 minute mark and then took the bowl off of the pot and set it aside to cool.

Once it was cooled completely we tasted it and it was literally divine! My husband was trying to decide what all he could dip in it or put it on because it was so good. It is going to be perfect in the cupcakes in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

Life Plan

Make Some History

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Sincerely, James

The Life of a Teenage-Traveler

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake!

Handling life one sweet treat at a time.

WTWO Alerts

Posting Weather Alerts for West TN

