How to agree with your spouse or partner on a baby name

First of all let me start by saying congratulations on the baby! What an exciting time in your life! I am a mother to three children and they all have names! Believe me, there were times when I wondered if we would ever agree, but we always did! Here are some of the things that my husband and I did to decide on a name for our little ones!

Get a Name Book
Yes, this seems like a silly thing for me to suggest, but just hear me out. My husband and I had a name book and we each took turns looking through the book. We would highlight the names that we each liked. I had a yellow highlighter and he had a blue highlighter. Then when we were both done, we would only consider the highlighted names. The names that were green were the first ones on our list since both of us liked those. However, we also discussed the names that only one of us liked and made our decision in that way.

Share the Duty
I know that this option does not work for everyone, but it is something that has worked for many people that I know. One of you can choose the first name and the other can choose the middle name. Of course you still have to work together to make sure the two names sound good together. Also you have to agree on who gets to pick which name, which can be a tough decision. This does help many couples when they are having trouble making a decision on the full name together.

Take Turns
If you plan to have more than one child, then you can each take turns naming children. Mom could name the first child, then Dad can name the second or vice versa. This has worked for lots of couples, however this does not work for everyone. You really have to be confident that you can turn that choice over to your spouse or significant other and not be upset with the name that is chosen.

Pick a Theme
Many families go with a theme when they name their children. Some people only pick biblical names, others name all their children using the same letter of the alphabet, many religions have specific requirements when naming children also. You both need to decide if you are going to go with a theme when naming your children. If you do decide to go with a theme it could narrow down the name choices and make things easier on you when trying to make that final decision.

Wait It Out
I am not a patient person, so this was just not an option for me and my husband, however many couples prefer to just wait. I have friends who have told me that once they saw their baby they just knew what to name him or her. When he is born he may just look like a Sam, then you have your name. This plan can backfire though and you can be sitting there staring at the birth certificate thinking “oh my goodness my baby doesn’t have a name.”

No matter which route you decide to take, your baby will definitely have a name! It is an important decision, and I know exactly how you feel because I have been there myself. Naming a baby isn’t always an easy task, and I hope some of my suggestions have helped you in your quest for the perfect name for your baby!

Cheryl’s Shoulder is always ready to help you with any issues that you may have arise. Feel free to contact me with any Cheryl’s Shoulder questions that you have.

Leave a Reply

Life Plan

Make Some History

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Sincerely, James

The Life of a Teenage-Traveler

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake!

Handling life one sweet treat at a time.

WTWO Alerts

Posting Weather Alerts for West TN

