St. Patrick’s Day Dessert Recipes

St. Patrick’s Day has always been one of my favorite holidays! The number one reason is because my family has lots of Irish heritage. so I really make sure I wear green and I will pinch you if I catch you not wearing green! The second reason is because green is my absolute favorite color. St. Patrick’s day is pretty close to a celebration of all things green, so I have a blast with it! This year I am planning to take my love of St. Patrick’s day a step further. I want to cook Irish and green foods for that day! My favorite part of any meal is dessert, so that is where I started!

There are lots of wonderful sweets that are green, limes and mint being the first that came to my mind. I immediately let my mind wander on what types of lime or mint desserts that I could make and really let the green stand out. Here are a few of the ideas that I thought of.

Parfaits
Parfaits are so much fun! All you have to do to make a parfait is layer your dessert! In order to make a St. Patrick’s Day parfait you need to have green items in your layers. However, you don’t want to over power the look of your parfait with too much green. Make sure you choose another color to compliment the green. Here are some choices of items for your parfait.

Green Choices – Choose at least one of these to give your parfait a St. Patrick’s Day green.
lime gelatin
lime yogurt
mint flavored pudding
pistachio pudding
kiwi slices
green gummy snacks
green or shamrock shaped sprinkles
lime sherbert
mint chocolate chip ice cream

Non-Green Choices – Use these choices as a way to help your green ingredients stand out more.
Vanilla yogurt
Vanilla, chocolate, or white chocolate pudding
granola
nuts
whipped cream
vanilla or chocolate ice cream

These are only a few of the hundreds of options you have when making a St. Patrick’s Day parfait. Be creative! If you have kids this a wonderful recipe for them to get in the kitchen and help with!

Cookies
Sure, you can go out to any grocery store and buy the prepackaged cookies shaped like Shamrocks, or the dough that you just slice and bake. However, I like to make my cookies! I do buy these on occasion, but to me it is much more fun to make my own cookies! Most cookie recipes are simple, and quick too! You can easily tint a sugar cookie dough green with food coloring. You could make a special trip out to find special green chocolate chips. The easiest thing to do would be to grab some green or St. Patrick’s Day sprinkles and sprinke the tops of your cookies before you bake them. You could even make your own cookie pops! All you have to do is get some vanilla or chocolate wafer cookies. Spread a bit of peanut butter onto one cookie and top it with another to make a sandwich. Slide a popsicle stick into the peanut butter and you have a cookie pop. Then you decorate with icing, sprinkles, and candies!

Cake
Cakes are similar to cookies for me. Sure I could run up to the store and buy one already made and decorated, but I have more fun making it than eating it so I do it myself! You can easily tint a white cake batter green by adding a bit of green food coloring, this goes the same with the icing. You can also draw a shamrock or a rainbow onto the cake. These are all simple ways to make an every day cake a St. Patrick’s Day cake. However, you can also get even more creative. You can purchase a shamrock shaped cake pan and decorate the entire cake as if it were a real shamrock in all of its green glory! You could even go and pick some fresh clovers to use while decoratng your cake. It would be beautiful to have a green cake, with white icing, and decorate with some fresh shamrocks around the edge of the cake. If you are lucky enough to find a four leaf clover you could place that one on the top of the cake right in the middle. Just make sure you do not eat the clovers.

Pies
You can easily make a key lime or lime chiffon pie. Both are a beautiful shade of pale green when completed. You could also make a lime gelatin pie and top it with whipped cream. However, my favorite choice would have to be a pudding pie made from chocolate wafers, pistachio pudding mix and some peppermint extract. It reminds me of the mint girl scout cookies. All I have to say is it is delicious!

No matter what St. Patrick’s Day recipe you decide on for your festive dessert, make sure you have fun making it and eating it. Plus make sure you are wearing your green!

Leave a Reply

Life Plan

Make Some History

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Sincerely, James

The Life of a Teenage-Traveler

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake!

Handling life one sweet treat at a time.

WTWO Alerts

Posting Weather Alerts for West TN

